Cranberry Rosemary Crumble

I’ve been hearing about the red-berry and rosemary dessert combo for a while, so  I can’t take the credit for this one. I was trying to get rid of extra food in the pantry for an impending move, had just seen a weblog entry for working class foodies with Cathy Erway on how to reuse Thanksgiving leftovers. Realizing a can of cranberry sauce in my pantry qualified as Thanksgiving leftovers (albeit 11 months old),  I found I had all the other ingredients on hand. The original recipe is for oat bars, but this really worked better as a crumble. It smelled amazing, like dessert but earthier, baked fruit mixed with an after hint of wood-smoke on really crisp autumn mornings in New England (thank you rosemary).  Damn, I wish I had a perfume of this to wear on rainy, gray-blotched autumn mornings in the tri-state area.

Cranberry Rosemary Crumble

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flour (I used whole wheat)
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 stick of butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ cup chopped walnuts
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 can jellied cranberry sauce
  • 1 teaspoon minced rosemary

Preparation

Mix flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, walnuts, salt and rosemary together, add melted butter and incorporate until a soft, crumb-like dough forms. Reserve half for topping. Mold the other half as a crust in a medium sized baking dish. Spread cranberry sauce and top with the remaining crumble mixture. Bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.

