Lemon yogurt bread

Too crumble-y to be a pound cake, too dense and moist to be soda bread, this loaf is relatively healthful (use of whole wheat flour, yogurt and eggs), if you ignore the sugar, and full of lemony goodness. Yogurt adds to the moisture of this bread-cake, but also vamps up the sourness of the lemon. I made this, not quite knowing what the result would be, but I like it. This is my lazy, cold person breakfast for mornings as bone-chilling as the ones we’ve been having lately, my fingers are too numb to assemble breakfast, my sleep-deprived mind too muddled to contemplate heating up ingredients  for oatmeal. Slice and eat with morning coffee. It’ll keep you going for now. In the meantime, plot all the sugar/gluten-free heathy things you will eat when it gets warm again.

I made this early sunday morning, when I woke to find the heat wasn’t working in my apartment. The butter I had put out to soften overnight was cold to the touch, as though it had been sitting in the fridge. This recipe, fortunately, uses canola oil. Preheated the oven to 350, baked the loaf, and sent an e-mail to my landlord about the furnace not working. After about an hour, removed the loaf, turned off the oven, but left the door open to allow that warmth and lemony-baked aroma to heat the kitchen.

Lemon yogurt bread

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup plain whole-milk yogurt
1 cup sugar
3 extra-large eggs
2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (2 lemons)
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

Preparation

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix wet ingredients: oil, eggs, lemon juice, lemon zest, yogurt and vanilla. Sift in the dry ingredients: flour, sugar, salt, baking powder. Stir to combine into a loose batter. Line a loaf pan with parchment paper. Pour in batter and bake  for 50 minutes.

