Mushrooms and parsley

In this heat, I find myself dining often on mono-meals–dishes characterized by few ingredients, preferably a fruit or veggie, dolled up, but not too much, and served as the main event.  Could be accompanied by a few other things; a slice of crusty bread, a glass of wine,  some cheese, a few olives or nuts on the side. Hot weather reinforces apathy in the kitchen, but laziness, as a method of preparation and eating, always reminds me of how simple ingredients, such as raw mushrooms, can taste amazing by themselves. I was temped to call this a salad. I won’t even do that.

Mushroom and parsley salad

Ingredients

  • button or cremini mushrooms
  • parsley
  • lemon
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • Parmigiano Reggiano

Preparation

Clean and slice mushrooms, mince parsley. Toss with lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper and generous shaving of cheese. That’s it. Serve chilled.

