Pasta with golden tomato sauce

Well…shit. I spent almost $10 on yellow tomatoes. Union market fooled me again. By the time I realized my error, I was already at the cashier with a line behind me, sheeplishly forking over the cash. I swore I wouldn’t buy heirloom tomatoes for a sauce. It seems so wasteful. Later saw piles of cheaper yellow tomatoes (so they DO exist) at C town, though they were probably not organic. This is the modern day dilemma of the health, but also budget conscious cook. There is something wrong in a society where a simple tomato sauce costs more than a pound of hamburger or a steak. But anyway, if you have access to golden (yellow or orange) tomatoes, and you’re curious about using them, I highly recommend trying this sauce at least once. If anything, you will get more bang for your buck out of a pasta (hot or cold) than a salad.

For this dish, I deferred to Alex Guarnachelli’s recipe, which seems to be a regular on the menu at her restaurant, when in season. Unfortunately I have not been able to get there, so this will have to do. Given a pasta in a restaurant like Alex’s might set you back $25 for one serving, mine is kind of a bargain at  $2 a serving, even with the pricey tomatoes.  I tasted them before I put them on to cook, and just sort of shrugged. eh. Not very sweet OR tart. But the added vinegar…that’s what elevates the flavor and makes this sauce taste as acidic as it looks, in a good way. Alex calls for peeling the tomatoes, but I prefer to leave the skins on, especially if they’re organic. Just give them a good washing first.

Golden tomato sauce

Servings: roughly 7-8

Ingredients

  • 4-6 yellow medium to large yellow tomatoes
  • 1 shallot
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • sprinkle of red pepper flakes
  • pasta (roughly 100 grams per serving)
  • 1/3 cup rice wine vinegar
  • grated Parmigiano
  • ground pepper and salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • fresh herbs if you got em
Preparation
Mince shallot and garlic and saute in some olive oil with salt and pepper until translucent. Dice tomatoes and combine (seeds, juice and all) into the pan. Cook for 10-15 minutes until the tomatoes break down and release all their juices. Add red pepper flakes. Prepare pasta, bringing a salted pot of water to the boil and cooking according to the instructions for the type of pasta you’re using. Cook al dente though. When the sauce is beginning to thicken up, turn off the heat, add the vinegar and sugar, and stir to incorporate.
Toss al dente pasta with grated cheese, and add to the tomato sauce. Turn the heat on again and cook a few minutes in the sauce. Can be served hot with a garnish of extra cheese and fresh herbs, or cold/room temperature as a picnic pasta salad.
