Whiskey truffles

I made these for a Prohibition/speak-easy themed Halloween party. They were supposed to be fudge (spiked with single malt scotch), what I thought was a perfect nod to both the theme of the party and the holiday –basically boozey candy for grown-ups.  About 30 minutes before I left the apartment, already dressed in my flapper costume, I pulled a tray out of the fridge, ready to cut the fudge into small cubes, when I realized I would be doing no such thing. The stuff was way too soft. Not about to waste a 1/4 cup of the Balvenie, plus chocolate I’d used, I lurched for the cocoa powder, and made these. They are intensely chocolaty. There isn’t enough whiskey in them to get you hammered, but you still taste it, and it adds to the complexity of the flavor.

Whiskey truffles

Servings: 25-30

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup scotch whiskey
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 150 g dark chocolate
  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 100 g cubed butter
  • salt
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
Preparation
Heat butter, sugar and condensed milk in a small pot and stir until completely melted and combined, and begins to thicken. Turn off the heat, and add the chocolate and scotch (stand back though, so you don’t get sprayed by spattering alcohol). Add a pinch of salt. Pour the combined mixture into a greased or parchment lined baking dish and allow to cool for an hour. Refrigerate for another hour. Set up a dredging station with cocoa powder on a plate. When firm, remove the chocolate and break off tablespoon sized pieces, roll into balls with your palms and roll in the cocoa powder. Serve cool or at room temperature. They are slightly softer than regular truffles.
